August 9, 2011 • Vol. XXXV • No. 5
Front Page About Archives Home

31 Districts Apply for Teacher Evaluation Pilot Program

Thirty one school districts and charter schools have applied to take part in the state Department of Education’s teacher-evaluation pilot program. Ultimately, nine districts are expected to be chosen to implement teacher evaluations based on teacher practice and student performance.

The Department of Education allocated $1.1 million to help districts implement the program, which is designed to provide feedback to the state as it moves toward a new teacher-evaluation system statewide.

Call for Applicants In June, the department sent a letter to school superintendents and charter school trustees inviting them to apply to participate in the program, dubbed “EE4NJ,” or Excellent Educators for New Jersey.

The new evaluation system is expected to draw heavily on the New Jersey Educator Effectiveness Task Force Report that was released in the spring.

The task force called for a teacher-evaluation process that is linked with student achievement, with half of the measures initially consisting of direct measures of achievement, such as assessments and “other evaluations of student work.” The other half would involve teaching practice as it affects student performance.

Feedback Required The task force also recommended soliciting feedback from stakeholder groups, and implementing a pilot program to learn about successes and obstacles on a small scale, before moving toward a statewide system that could affect retention, promotion, and possibly teacher pay.

According to news reports, the districts and charter schools that applied for the pilot program include: Alexandria Township; Bayonne; Bergenfield; Camden City; Cherry Hill; East Hanover; Egg Harbor Township; Elizabeth; Fort Lee; Galloway Community Charter School; Hainesport; Keyport; Little Egg Harbor Township; Maria L. Varisco-Rogers Charter School; Marlboro Township; Monroe Township; Newark; North Brunswick; Nutley; Ocean City; Pemberton Township; Perth Amboy; Red Bank Borough; Rockaway; Secaucus; Stafford Township; Swedesboro-Woolwich; Upper Township; West Deptford Township; West Windsor-Plainsboro Regional; and Woodstown-Pilesgrove Regional.


Copyright © 2011 New Jersey School Boards Association. All rights reserved.