TRENTON, May 19, 2021 — Irene M. LeFebvre, a 26-year veteran of the Boonton Town Board of Education, was elected president of the New Jersey School Boards Association during the organization’s virtual Delegate Assembly on Saturday, May 15, 2021.

NJSBA is a statewide federation of local boards of education.

LeFebvre served on the Boonton Town Board of Education for 26 of the past 27 years, serving as president and vice president several times, and chairing many board committees. She led the board through NJSBA board certification twice, serving as chair during the process, and served as liaison to the Morris County Educational Services Commission.

She served on the NJSBA Board of Directors as an alternate and as a member representing Morris County. While on the Morris County School Boards Association, LeFebvre served as president, member of the executive committee and vice president of legislation, and as representative on the NJSBA County Association Leadership (CAL) committee.

LeFebvre was named the NJSBA School Board Member of the Year for 2020-2021, and has earned her Certified Board Member, Master Board Member, and Certified Board Leader certifications through the NJSBA Board Member Academy.

Her NJSBA task force membership includes the Opportunities for Non-College-Bound Learner Task Force; Ambassador Program: Career-Focused Students; Task Force on the Delivery of Mental Health Services; and the Health and Wellness Steering Committee.

As chair of the NJSBA Special Education Standing Committee, LeFebvre has presented testimony to both the state Senate and Assembly Education Committees and the Montclair State University Summer Conference on Special Education.

LeFebvre is currently retired. She taught math at Boonton High School, and at the Passaic County Educational Services Commission (PCESC) in its alternative education program. She then served as assistant principal, principal and director of educational programs at PCESC until retirement.

She succeeds Michael McClure, of the Maple Shade Board of Education, Burlington County, who now assumes the role of NJSBA Immediate Past President.

I want to congratulate all the officers, Dr. Feinsod, our executive director, and the amazing NJSBA staff on the success they have demonstrated in providing resources to the educational community as we weathered the pandemic,” said LeFebvre. “I look forward to leading the Association and its members as we reopen our district schools in September, and seek to incorporate the positive aspects of the virtual instruction model with the undisputed benefits of traditional in-classroom instruction.  Our school board members work daily to ensure the best possible education for every child in their districts, and NJSBA takes very seriously its role to support their work and provide any needed assistance. “

The NJSBA delegates also elected the following local school boards members to officer positions: Vice President for County Activities – Bruce R. Young, Carlstadt-East Rutherford Board of Education, Bergen County; Vice President for Finance – Tammeisha D. Smith, Knowlton Township, Warren County; and Vice President for Legislation/Resolutions – Karen Cortellino, M.D., Montville Township, Morris County.