The New Jersey School Boards Association’s Nominating Committee received 10 applications for four available association officer positions by the Dec. 18, 2020 deadline. 

Available positions include president of the association, and three vice president positions including vice president for county activities; vice president for finance; and vice president for legislation/resolutions. 

The Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for election at the Association’s Delegate Assembly on May 15, 2021. 

NJSBA policy (GO/8204) directs that all applicants seeking nomination as an officer by the nominating committee shall have their name, school district/county and position sought announced in School Board Notes following the deadline for submission of nominations. 

As of the deadline, NJSBA received applications from the following local school board members: 

  • Michael Dennison – Alloway Township BOE (Salem)  
  • Irene LeFebvre – Boonton Town BOE (Morris)  
  • Bruce Young – Carlstadt-East Rutherford BOE (Bergen)  
Vice President for County Activities 
  • Melanie Biscardi – Manchester Township BOE (Ocean) 
  • Ronald Hoffman – Hardyston Township BOE (Sussex)  
  • Diane Johnson – Pennsauken Township BOE (Camden)  
  • Frank Kasper – Clifton BOE (Passaic)  
Vice President for Finance 
  • Tammeisha Smith – Knowlton Twp. BOE (Warren)  
Vice President for Legislation/Resolutions 
  • Paula Colbath – Fort Lee BOE (Bergen)  
  • Karen Cortellino, M.D. – Montville Twp. BOE (Morris)  

Nomination by Petition  NJSBA Bylaws also provide for candidates to be nominated by petition, signed by at least 10 members from at least five different district boards of education and filed with the NJSBA executive director.  On March 4, 2021, petitions may be obtained by visiting the NJSBA’s website.  Petitions may not be circulated prior to March 4 and must be received by the executive director no later than March 30, 2021. 

Signatures need not all appear upon a single petition and any number of petitions may be filed on behalf of a candidate, but no petition shall contain the endorsement of more than one candidate. 

Nominations by petition should be sent via Federal Express or registered/receipt-requested mail.  The written consent of the candidate for nomination by petition must be filed with the executive director within the same time limit. 

Information with Petition When submitting nominations by petition, candidates should include a black-and-white “head and shoulders” photo and a resume that includes a 200-word statement explaining why they are seeking the position.  Resumes should contain information under the following headings:  local board activities; county activities; NJSBA activities; education; and employment/community activities.  (A sample resume may be obtained from Cindy Harrison by calling 1-888-886-5722, Ext. 5254.)  A report of all candidates by petition will be made no later than April 2, 2021.  The report will appear in School Board Notes and on NJSBA’s website. 

Nominating Committee  Members of the 2021-2022 Nominating Committee include: Daniel Sinclair, chair, immediate past president; Michael R. McClure, president, ex-officio (non-voting member of committee); Naomi Davidson, Runnemede BOE (Camden); James Gaffney, Oakland BOE (Bergen); J. Brendan Galligan, Westfield BOE (Union); Yuenge Groce, Salem City BOE (Salem); Jeffrey Hicks, Southampton BOE (Burlington); Dana Krug, West Windsor-Plainsboro BOE (Mercer); Charles Miller, East Amwell BOE (Hunterdon); Sharon Miller, South Plainfield BOE (Middlesex); Robert Morrison, Watchung Hills BOE (Somerset); Tara Rivera, Jackson BOE (Ocean); Mattia Scharfstein, Stanhope BOE (Sussex) and Paul Williams, Harmony BOE (Warren).