While board members may not be more powerful than a locomotive or able to leap tall buildings in a single bound, students from the Ben Franklin Elementary School in the Lawrence Township (Mercer) school district clearly value the abilities and hard work of their board of education members.

At the January board meeting, board members were presented with superhero capes the students made in celebration of School Board Recognition Month. Left to right in photo, board members include Michele Bowes; Pepper Evans; Dr. Michelle King; Tom Eldridge, business administrator; Dr. Ross Kasun, superintendent; Kevin Van Hise, board president; Dana Drake, board vice president; Jo Ann Groeger; Cathy Le Compte; Dr. Jonathan Dauber; and Joyce Scott.