The New Jersey School Boards Association’s Nominating Committee received 12 applications* for four association officer positions by the Dec. 21, 2018 deadline. (See note at end of article.)

Available positions include president, vice president for county activities, vice president for finance, and vice president for legislation/resolutions. The Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for election at the Association’s Delegate Assembly annual meeting on May 18, 2019.

As of the deadline, NJSBA received applications from the following local school board members:


Michael McClure – Maple Shade BOE (Burlington)
Christy Tighe – Greenwich Township BOE (Warren)

Vice President for County Activities

Irene LeFebvre – Boonton Town BOE (Morris)
Dominick Miletta – Pittsgrove Township BOE (Salem)
Peter Wendrychowicz – Mahwah BOE (Bergen)
Bruce Young – Carlstadt-East Rutherford BOE (Bergen)

Vice President for Finance

Tammy Smith – Knowlton Township BOE (Warren)

Vice President for Legislation/Resolutions

Tafari Anderson – Clifton BOE (Passaic)
Tom Connors – Piscataway BOE (Middlesex)
Karen Cortellino – Montville Township BOE (Morris)
Jacqueline McAlister – Ocean City BOE (Cape May)
Ginny Murphy – Washington Township BOE (Gloucester)

NJSBA policy (GO/8204) directs that all applicants seeking nomination as an officer by the Nominating Committee shall have their name, school district/county and position sought announced in School Board Notes following the deadline for submission of applications.

Nomination by Petition NJSBA Bylaws also provide for candidates to be nominated by petition. Information about the petition process can be found here.

Nominating Committee Members of the 2019-2020 nominating committee include Donald Webster, chair; George Babula, Harmony Township BOE (Warren); Charles Caraballo, Bloomingdale BOE (Passaic); Minkyo Chenette, Montgomery Twp. BOE (Somerset); Sheli Dansky, River Edge BOE (Bergen); Gail David, Eastern Camden Co. Regional BOE (Camden); Anne Erickson, Greater Egg Harbor Regional BOE (Atlantic); Helen Kirsch, Berkeley Heights BOE (Union); Laurie Markowski, Flemington-Raritan Regional BOE (Hunterdon); Al Miller, Howell Township BOE (Monmouth); Eileen Miller, Woodstown-Pilesgrove BOE (Salem); Jennifer Montone, Burlington City BOE (Burlington), and Elliott Stroul, Jamesburg BOE (Middlesex).

* This article was updated on Jan. 7, 2019 to acknowledge receipt of an application from Ginny Murphy of the Washington Township Board of Education (Gloucester) on Nov. 26, 2018, within the deadline. NJSBA’s email system misdirected Ms. Murphy’s application for the position of Vice President for Legislation/Resolutions to a spam folder. The filing date of her application has been verified.