On Saturday, June 2, the 2018 New Jersey State Governor’s Jefferson Award was presented to New Jersey school board members in recognition of their extraordinary service to their community.

The ceremony was held at the War Memorial in Trenton.  Daniel T. Sinclair, president, and Dr. Lawrence S. Feinsod, executive director of the New Jersey School Boards Association, accepted the award on behalf of New Jersey’s 5,000 school board members.

Honorees of the New Jersey State Governor’s Jefferson Award achieve measurable community impact and represent outstanding acts of public service, without the expectation of recognition or compensation. Recipients demonstrate unique vision, dedication and tenacity of heroic proportion and serve as inspiration for others. The New Jersey school board members were nominated by Christy Tighe, vice president for county activities, New Jersey School Boards Association.

The Jefferson Awards were established in 1972 as the official recognition program of the United State Senate. They are considered America’s highest honor for public service and volunteerism.  Each year, the New Jersey State Governor’s Jefferson Awards highlight the spirit of civic engagement among New Jersey’s 1.5 million volunteers and provide Jefferson Awards medals in 22 categories of volunteer service.

Skip to toolbar