Ten student short films will be premiered at the Garden State Film Festival beginning at 9:30 a.m. on Sunday, March 28 at the Asbury Lanes, 209 Fourth Avenue in Asbury Park.

The student films were submitted in the NJSBA-sponsored “New Jersey Hometown Documentary Short” film category. This category is reserved for works that are written, directed, and shot by New Jersey high school students. The films are five minutes or less and focus on some aspect of the entrant’s hometown, profiling an interesting person, place, time period, or subject related to the arts.

The following submitted entries:

  • Columbia High School, South Orange-Maplewood School District, Essex County
  • Orange School District, Essex County
  • East Brunswick Tech, part of the School of the Arts of the Middlesex County Vocational and Technical Schools, Middlesex County
  • Barringer High School, Newark School District, Essex County
  • Jonathan Dayton High School, Springfield Township, Union County
  • Alloway Township School District, Salem County
  • Cape May School District, Cape May County
  • Collingswood High School, Camden County (three film entries)

The New Jersey School Boards Association teamed up with the Garden State Film Festival, the New Jersey Motion Picture & Television Commission, Steven Van Zandt’s Teach Rock initiative and Rock and Roll Forever Foundation to form a student submission category for the Garden State Film Festival. This year is the second year for such a category.

The films will also be featured at the NJSBA’s Workshop 2021 on Oct. 26 and Oct. 27.