On May 22, the New Jersey School Boards Association unveiled a new feature in its headquarters first floor conference room: a wall of photographs of the 14 New Jersey school board members who have been honored as “New Jersey Board Member of the Year,” since the program began in 2005.

The group gathered to see the photos, and to share their thoughts on board service and the award while having a casual lunch at the Association.

“Through their exemplary service, these dedicated individuals are role models for every school board member in New Jersey,” said Dr. Lawrence S. Feinsod, NJSBA executive director.

Left to right in the photograph, with their district and the year each was honored, were: (Front row) Helen Kirsch, Berkeley Heights, 2015; Peggy Saslow, New Milford, 2014; Linda Bond-Nelson, North Plainfield, 2010; Diane Holzberg, Demarest, 2011; Cathy Moncrief, Lindenwold, 2007.  (Back row) Kevin Ciak, Sayreville, 2013; Bruce Young, Carlstadt, 2017, and current NJSBA vice president for county activities; Mike McClure, NJSBA president; Maria Alamo, Nutley, 2005; Dale Caldwell, New Brunswick, 2009; Dr. Lawrence S. Feinsod, NJSBA executive director; Debra Roosen, North Hunterdon-Voorhees, 2012; and Tammeisha Smith, NJSBA vice president for finance.  Not present were Sister Carol Adams, Salem City, 2018; Sheli Dansky, River Edge, 2016; Cynthia Auberger, Vernon Township, 2008, and Marie Hakim (deceased), Clifton, 2006.