Nine New Jersey public schools won federal “blue ribbon” awards for high academic excellence, quality programs and improving student achievement.

In a Sept. 26 announcement by the U.S. Department of Education, the New Jersey schools honored were:

  • Bergen County: Edith A. Bogert Elementary School, Upper Saddle River School District.
  • Camden County: Joseph D. Sharp Elementary School, Cherry Hill Township School District.
  • Gloucester County: Radix Elementary School, Monroe Township Public Schools.
  • Hudson County: Infinity Institute,  Jersey City School District.
  • Monmouth County: Communications High School,  Monmouth County Vocational School District.
  • Morris County: Mendham Township Elementary School, Mendham Township School District.
  • Passaic County: Little Falls School Number 3, Little Falls Township Public Schools.
  • Union County: Terrence C. Reilly School Number 7, Elizabeth School District.
  • Union County: Washington Elementary School, Westfield Public Schools.

Nationally, 312 public and 50 non-public schools were honored by the U.S. Department of Education.

National Blue Ribbon schools are honored at an annual awards ceremony in Washington, D.C., where each school receives a plaque and flag. Additional information is available on the U.S. Department of Education website.