In a busy start to the school year, school boards associations gathered last week to discuss business in four counties.

Newly re-elected Passaic County School Boards Association (PCSBA) vice-presidents Catherine Kazan of the Wayne Township Board of Education; Charles Caraballo of the Bloomingdale Board of Education and Judith Bassford, PCSBA president  and vice-president of the Clifton Board of Education join Bruce Young, the NJSBA vice president for county activities.
The Warren County School Boards Association recognized Debra Koch (right), the Warren County Teacher of the Year, at its September meeting. Koch teaches family consumer science at Belvidere High School.
The Essex County School Boards Association meeting featured a school safety and security panel discussion. Although not all the panelists are visible in the photo, the panel included Damion Maccioci, West Essex, superintendent; Mark Deuer, police chief, North Caldwell; David Rubin, Belleville Public Schools director of safety services; Louis Cammarata, special investigator-regional planner, Office of School Preparedness and Emergency Planning for the New Jersey Department of Education, and Valerie Wilson, school business administrator, Newark Public Schools. Bruce Young, NJSBA vice president for county activities (center, in blue shirt), listens to the discussion.
The Boonton Town Board of Education received its board certification during the Morris County School Boards Association meeting. Pictured left to right: Charlene Peterson, field service representative of the NJSBA; and Boonton Town board members Jennifer Darling (with plaque) and Irene LeFebvre, who is also president of the Morris County School Boards Association.