The New Jersey Department of Education (NJDOE) last month announced 21 teachers as the 2019-2020 County Teachers of the Year during an awards ceremony at Liberty High School in Jackson.

“It is with great pride that I recognize these highly skilled, compassionate and dedicated County Teachers of the Year,” said Gov. Phil Murphy. “These teachers reflect the exemplary quality of educational leadership that we see throughout our state.”

“New Jersey’s educators are among the best in this country, as evidenced by the success of our students,” said Education Commissioner Lamont O. Repollet. “The teachers who we recognize today instruct, inform, and inspire children to achieve success in school and beyond.”

The Governor’s Educator of the Year Program promotes a positive school culture by acknowledging the hard work and dedication of outstanding teachers. Individual schools are encouraged to nominate exceptional educators with diverse backgrounds to ensure that the honorees represent the ethnic/racial diversity of New Jersey. As an added incentive to participate this year, the New Jersey School Boards Association made it possible for over 2,400 educators who were named as their local school’s educator of the year to receive free virtual educational resources that will benefit their students. Resources included ideas on how to incorporate music into classroom instruction, best practices for teaching African American history and how to deal with in-school bullying.

The County Teachers of the Year will network with educators throughout the state and serve as ambassadors for New Jersey’s public schools. Additional information can be found on the Governor’s Educator of the Year webpage.

A panel of educators then will select the New Jersey State Teacher of the Year based on written applications, video submissions, and interviews with the top six finalists.

The State Teacher of the Year is expected to be announced at the State Board of Education’s October meeting and will go on to represent New Jersey in competing for the title of National Teacher of the Year.

New Jersey’s 2019-2020 County Teachers of the Year are as follows:

CountyNameSchoolSchool DistrictGrade level TaughtSubject Area
AtlanticLeslie KronemeyerMainland Regional High SchoolMainland Regional
H.S. District
9th- 12thSpanish
BergenLeah JeromePascack Valley High SchoolPascack Valley Regional
H.S. District
11th- 12thSocial Studies
BurlingtonMichelle-Anne SpringHawthorne Park Elementary
Willingboro School District4thElementary
CamdenKimberly DicksteinHaddonfield Memorial High SchoolHaddonfield School District10th- 12thEnglish
Cape MayThomas BelascoLower Cape May Regional
High School
Lower Cape May Reg.
11th- 12thEnglish
CumberlandAmanda McCloskeyWest Avenue SchoolBridgeton School District6th & 8thMathematics
EssexYanelis Cabaleiro- RempusheskiSchool #3Belleville School DistrictPreKSpecial Education
GloucesterBrittany MasonWashington Township High SchoolWashington Township School
11th- 12thSocial Studies & Tomorrow’s Teacher
HudsonMartha Noriette GarciaAcademy 1 Middle
Jersey City School
6th- 8thVisual Arts
HunterdonTherese SquicciariniJ.P. Case Middle SchoolFlemington- Raritan School
7thSpecial Education
MercerHelen CorveleynHopewell Elementary SchoolHopewell Valley Regional School
MiddlesexJennifer OlawskiLivingston Elementary SchoolNew Brunswick School
K-5thHealth & Physical Education
MonmouthBeth EnglishFreehold Township
High School
Freehold Regional
H.S. District
9th- 12thEnglish
MorrisSarah GuzaLincoln Park Middle SchoolLincoln Park School District8thMathematics
OceanKelly CerboneLake Riviera Middle SchoolBrick Township School
7thMathematics & Science
PassaicPatrick SlaterWayne Valley High
Wayne School
9th- 12thTechnology Education
SalemTracy DemarestWilliam Roper SchoolWoodstown Pilesgrove School
PreK-KSpecial Education
SomersetSuzanne UpdegroveBranchburg Central Middle SchoolBranchburg School District6th- 8thGifted and Talented
SussexJennifer CaputoHelen Morgan Elementary
Sparta Township School
UnionBryan LoweValley Road
Elementary School
Clark School District5thElementary
WarrenDebra KochBelvidere High SchoolBelvidere School
9th- 12thFamily Consumer