• Irene LeFebvre, NJSBA's immediate past president; and Ray Pinney, the Association's lead director of member training and engagement, honor Bernadette Dalesandro, MCSBA president, as NJSBA's Board Member of the Year.

The Morris County School Boards Association held a meeting Dec. 7 at Morris Knolls High School in Rockaway.

MCSBA thanks Morris Hills Regional High School District Superintendent Nicholas J. Norcia,  Ryan MacNaughton, Morris Knolls High School principal, and various staff for serving as great hosts for the meeting.

Bernadette Dalesandro, MCSBA president, welcomed the nearly 70 attendees in person and virtually, including the 22 newly elected board of education members who attended the 3Rs training before the meeting.

The Morris Knolls High School band and choir members performed a musical interlude before the meeting, along with a few songs and the National Anthem.

The Mendham Borough School District was awarded a 2023 NJSBA School Leader Award for “Making the Grade: Painting a Comprehensive Picture and Elevating Conversations About Student Academic Achievement.”

Ray Pinney, NJSBA lead director, member training and engagement, introduced and congratulated Dalesandro for being named NJSBA’s 2023–2024 School Board Member of the Year.

Charlene Peterson, NJSBA senior field service representative, recognized the 38 “retiring” board of education members from Morris County who represented 224 years of service to the students and districts in Morris County.

Irene LeFebvre, NJSBA’s immediate past president, shared greetings from the NJSBA officers. Paul Breda, a board of directors delegate to the Association, delivered an update to members; and LeFebvre and Peterson presented an interactive program titled “Defining Boardsmanship in Controversy.”

A variety of other important business was also carried out at the meeting.