The deadline for candidates to submit applications to the New Jersey School Boards Association’s Nominating Committee for president and three vice president positions (county activities, finance and legislation/resolutions) was Dec. 16, 2022. Pursuant to Governance and Operations File Code 8204, the Nominating Committee will present a slate of candidates for election at the Association’s Annual Meeting on May 13, 2023.

That same policy, (GO/8204), directs that all applicants seeking nomination as an officer by the Nominating Committee shall have their name, school district/county and the position sought announced in School Board Notes following the deadline for submission of nominations.

In accordance with the above policy, all members should be advised that as of the deadline, NJSBA received nine applications from the following local school board members:


Karen Cortellino – Montville Township Board of Education (Morris)
Robert Morrison – Watchung Hills Board of Education (Somerset)
Tammeisha Smith – Knowlton Township (Warren)

Vice President for County Activities

Tom Connors – Piscataway Township Board of Education (Middlesex)
Barry Fitzgerald – Lenape Regional Board of Education (Burlington)
Dana Krug – West Windsor-Plainsboro Board of Education (Mercer)

Vice President for Finance

Jonathan Castaneda – West New York Board of Education (Hudson)

Vice President for Legislation/Resolutions

Paula Colbath – Fort Lee Board of Education (Bergen)
Chanta Jackson – Neptune Township Board of Education (Monmouth)

Nomination by Petition NJSBA bylaws also provide for candidates to be nominated by petition, signed by at least 10 members from at least five different district boards of education and filed with the executive director. On March 2, 2023, petitions may be obtained by visiting NJSBA’s website. Petitions may not be circulated prior to March 2 and must be received by the executive director no later than March 29, 2023.

Signatures need not all appear upon a single petition and any number of petitions may be filed on behalf of a candidate, but no petition shall contain the endorsement of more than one candidate.

Nominations by petition should be sent via Federal Express or registered/receipt-requested mail. The written consent of the candidate for nomination by petition must also be filed with the executive director by the above deadline.

Information with Petition When submitting nominations by petition, candidates should include a black-and-white “head and shoulders” photo and a resume that includes a statement of not more than 200 words explaining why they are seeking the position. Resumes should contain information under the following headings: Local Board Activities; County Activities; NJSBA Activities; Education; and Employment/Community Activities. (A sample resume may be obtained from Cindy Harrison by calling 1-888-886-5722, ext. 5254.)  A report of all candidates by petition will be made no later than March 31, 2023. The report will appear in School Board Notes and on NJSBA’s website.

Nominating Committee Members of the 2022-2024 Nominating Committee include Irene LeFebvre, president, ex-officio; Michael McClure, chair, immediate past president; Christy Biedron, Bedminster BOE (Somerset); Marie Bilik, Green Township BOE (Sussex); Erica Campbell, Palmyra BOE (Burlington); Bernadette Dalesandro, Netcong BOE (Morris); Christine Guerriero, Garwood BOE (Union); Alix Hayes, Ocean Township BOE (Monmouth); Michael Jacobs, Ridgefield BOE (Bergen); Diane Johnson, Pennsauken BOE (Camden); Carolyn Kegler, Logan Township BOE (Gloucester); Eileen Miller, Woodstown-Pilesgrove BOE (Salem); Lorenzo Richardson, Jersey City BOE (Hudson) and Steve Shohfi, Lavallette BOE (Ocean).