Nine New Jersey public schools have received the distinguished federal recognition as 2021 National Blue Ribbon schools based on their overall academic performance or their progress in closing achievement gaps.

On Tuesday, Sept. 21, U.S. Secretary of Education Miguel Cardona recognized 325 schools across the country as National Blue Ribbon Schools, including the following in New Jersey:

  • Cedar Grove: North End School, Cedar Grove Township, Essex County
  • Closter: Hillside Elementary School, Closter Public School District, Bergen County
  • Dorothy: Weymouth Township Elementary School, Weymouth Township School District, Atlantic County
  • Jackson: Lucy N. Holman Elementary School, Jackson School District, Ocean County
  • Jamesburg: John F Kennedy Elementary School, Jamesburg Public School District, Middlesex County
  • Madison: Torey J. Sabatini Elementary School, Madison Public School District, Morris County
  • Manalapan: Wemrock Brook School, Manalapan-Englishtown Regional School District, Monmouth County
  • Old Bridge: Walter M. Schirra Elementary School, Old Bridge Township, Middlesex County
  • Scotch Plains: Academy For Information Technology, Union County Vocational-Technical School District, Union County

The National Blue Ribbon Schools Program has bestowed approximately 10,000 awards to more than 9,000 schools nationwide since its inception in 1982.

“We congratulate all the schools and educators on receiving this coveted national achievement,” said Dr. Lawrence S. Feinsod, executive director of the NJSBA. “Our New Jersey school district leaders and educators continue to lead the nation with their exemplary programs and efforts to teach every child, despite the challenging circumstances in our world. It is outstanding and inspires all of us to keep working our hardest to make a difference.”