Irene M. LeFebvre completed her term as NJSBA president at the conclusion of the delegates’ meeting on Saturday, May 13, 2023, and now assumes the role of immediate past president of the New Jersey School Boards Association.

LeFebvre is succeeded by Dr. Karen Cortellino, who was elected to a two-year term as president.

LeFebvre has been a member of  the Boonton Town Board of Education for 26 of the past 27 years, serving as president and vice president several times, and chairing many board committees. She led the board through NJSBA board certification twice, serving as chair during the process, and served as liaison to the Morris County Educational Services Commission.

She served on the NJSBA board of directors as an alternate and as a member representing Morris County. While on the Morris County School Boards Association, LeFebvre served as president, member of the executive committee and vice president of legislation, and as a representative on the NJSBA County Association Leadership  committee.

LeFebvre was named the NJSBA School Board Member of the Year for 2020-2021, and has earned her Certified Board Member, Master Board Member, and Certified Board Leader certifications through the NJSBA Board Member Academy.

Her NJSBA task force membership includes Opportunities for Non-College-Bound Learner Task Force; Ambassador Program: Career Focused Students; Task Force on the Delivery of Mental Health Services; and the Health and Wellness Steering Committee.

As chair of the NJSBA Special Education Standing Committee, LeFebvre has presented testimony to both the state Senate and Assembly Education committees and the Montclair State University Summer Conference on Special Education.

LeFebvre is currently retired. She taught math at Boonton High School, and at the Passaic County Educational Services Commission in its alternative education program. She then served as assistant principal, principal and director of educational programs at PCESC until retirement.