Thirteen municipalities asked voters to approve school budgets and elect members of local boards of education in an April 19 annual school election.

Less than 2% of public-school districts in New Jersey still have April school board elections as most districts have moved contests to November to coincide with the general election.

The municipalities holding an election were: Newark, Cliffside Park, Montague, Fredon, New Brunswick, West New York, Weekawken, Passaic, North Bergen, Fairview, Irvington, Totowa and Oakland.

According to media reports, voters approved all the proposed school budgets except in three municipalities: Fredon in Sussex County, North Bergen in Hudson County and Oakland in Bergen County.